Skip to content


The Here We Are Story - past, present and future

ST1-127 - Ardkinglas Sheepdog Trials - Newspaper Report (1931)

The Scotsman 24 August 1931

Sheep Dog Trials

Winners at Cairndow

Ardkinglas sheep dog trials were held at Cairndow on Saturday.   There was a large entry.  Among those present were Sir John and Lady Noble of Ardkinglas and party, Lord and Lady Weir of Cathcart, Dunderave Castle, and party; Lady George Campbell of Strachur and Miss Joan Campbell and Mr. Ian Campbell; Maclachlan of Maclachlan, Castle Lachlan, and party; Miss Olive Campbell of Inverneill, Mrs Scott of Eredine and party; Captain and Mrs Cockburn and Miss Cockburn, Colonel Lloyd (Convenor), Mrs Lloyd, Minard and party; Captain and Mrs Forman, Lochgoilhead; Mr and Mrs McKean of Benbuie and party; A.R. Page, Chamberlain of Argyll and Mrs Page; County Councillor Williams Robertson, Inveraray; Mr G.M. Sime, National Bank, Inverary; the president, Sir John Noble, Bart. of Ardkinglas; vice-president, Sir Bruce Seton, Bart. of Abercorn, and captain Forman, Lochgoilhead.  Judges Mr C. Brewster Macpherson and Alex. Hamilton.  Joint secretaries, W. Weir and A. McVicar, Cairndow.

Results –

The St Catherine’s Cup – Alex. Carmichae, Portanellan, Dusty.

Ben Lomond Cup, presented by Mr C.B. Ross, Helensburgh for best outrun.  Left and return – Alex. Carmichael, Portanellan, Dusty; 2. Robt. Thomson, Butterbridge, Bess; 3. Dan Whyte, Earlton, Belle; 4. J.D. Morrison, Beach, Scot; 5. John Campbell, Garrichra, Cruachan; 6. John Henderson, Leanach, Prince; 7. Duncan Macintyre, Ardentraive, Douggie; 8. Edward Houston, Garachoran, Moss; 9. Duncan Robertson, Ardentraive, Speed; 10. B.D. Mundell, Dalilongarth, Dick.

Special Prize for Best Handler – Robert Thomson, Butterbridge.

Special Prize for best type Working Dog – Duncan Macintyre, Ardentraive.

Special Prize for Dog in working condition with Best Coat – Robert Thomson.

Special Prize for Handler working his dog in Quietest Manner – James McDonald.

Special Prize for Oldest Handler – James McDonald.

Special Prize for Youngest Handler – John Crawford.

Special Prize for Shepherd with longest service on present farm – John McPherson.

Special Prize for Shepherd with largest Family – John Morrison.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *