Skip to content


The Here We Are Story - past, present and future

ST1-002 - Ardkinglas Sheepdog Trial Programme (1934)

1934 Program

Ardkinglas Sheepdog Trials – hill trials starting at the Stance in Cairndow



The Scotsman 20 August 1934

Sheep Dog Trials

Large Entry at Ardkinglas

Sheep dog trials, under the auspices of the Ardkinglas Association, were held on Saturday on the Ardkinglas estate, Loch Fyne.  These trials have become a very popular fixture, and receive much support.  Amongst those present were Sir John Noble, Bart., and Lady Noble, Ardkinglas; Lady Elspeth Campbell, Sir Norman Lamont, Bart., of Knockdhu; Mrs Montgomery, Sir Henry Beaumont, Maclachlan of Maclachlan and Mrs Maclachlan, Major and Lady Margaret MacRae of Feoirlian, Mr and Mrs Fellowes, Balliemore; Mrs Fletcher of Dunans, Lady Carter, Sir Henry Gollan, Prince Maylo of Montenegro, Lady Power, Mr and Mrs Fletcher Lee, Mrs Campbell Preston, of Ardchattan, and Miss Campbell Preson, Sir Thos. Dunlop, ex-Lord Provost of Glasgow, the Hon. John Weir and party, Dunderave Castle; Capt. George Campbell, Younger, of Succoth, Crarae Lodge; Lady George Campbell of Strachur and Miss Campbell, Mrs Dugdale, Lieut.-Col. T. Lloyd, of Minard Castle.

The secretarial duties were in the hands of Mr. Archiblad McVicar, Cairndow and Mr. William Weir, Achadunan.  Capt. Brexster Macpherson, Kingussie and Mr Alex. Hamilton, Garelochhead, acted as judges.

The number of dogs entered for the trials was much larger than formerly.  The intelligence of the dogs and the capable handling by the shepherds was warmly applauded by the large field of spectators.  Lady Noble presented the prizes at the close.

The results were as follows :-

1st prize the St Catherine’s Cup and the Ben Lomond Cup – B.D. Mundell, Dalilongart (Dick);  2. Duncan McCallum, Mark Park (Mick); 3. Iain Cameron, Salachray (Tot), 4. John Buchanan, Ardachuple (Nell); 5. Duncan B. Sinclaor, Brenchollie (Tweed); 6. Dan Whyte, Earlton (Trim); 7. Tom McNeill, Ardnadam (Nell); 8. Robert Thompson, Achadunan (Nell); 9. J.A. Macintyre, Glenlean (Nell); 10. Roderick Morrison (Top.)

Best Type of Working Dog – J.A. Macintyre.

Lady Elspeth Campbell’s Prize for Best Handler in Trials – William McNeill.

Best Dog on First Trial – Robert Thompson.

Handling Dog in Quiestes Manner – Dan Whyte.

Oldest Handler – Dan Whyte.

Youngest Handler – Archibald McIntyre, Ardintraive.

Best Outrun – Duncan McCallum.

Best Lifting – D.M. McNeill.

Youngest Handler in Prize-List with Hardest Luck – Roderick McKay, Ardnoe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *